Sometimes he surprises you with something so sweet, it just melts your heart.

The most romantic thing a guy ever did for me was not a fancy dinner, roses or a carriage ride in Central Park. It was the following.

Let me set the scene:

I was in a long distance relationship with a guy (who of course turned into a grand ass in the end – but for now we like him) and we decided to reunite in Vegas.

I would fly in from New York, with a stopover in Chicago and he was flying in from London to San Francisco and then Vegas.

As we were discussing our plans, I said, “You’ll be flying over New York to go to the West Coast; I wish we could fly together.”

After much anticipation, the day of the trip was finally here. I left for the airport to meet this (still great) guy in Sin City.

I texted him, “On flight to Chicago, see you in a few hours my love.”

“Can’t wait,” I get a text back.

I get off in Chicago airport looking for my gate to my next flight.  Gate 6. Damn, I have to walk so far to Gate 6.  Why are they always so far away?  No time to get a snack.  Oh well.  9,8,7.  Aaaah I see 6 and start walking to it.  Who do I see standing in the waiting area for Gate 6?

Can you guess?

Not in a million years.  Not in my wildest dreams would I have imagined he would do this.  He was standing there with a big smile as I was still looking up at the sign of Gate 6.  Our eyes met and my heart skipped a beat in a way that it hadn’t since I was 19 and my boyfriend at the time told me he loved me.

We walked towards each other, my eyes filling with tears.  Happy tears.  I do that. What can I say.  He gave me a big hug and I said,”OMG, what are you doing here?”

“You said you wanted to fly west with me.”

Damn.  Someone kill me now.  That was the sweetest thing ever.

He had flown to San Fransisco and then back to Chicago to pick me up.  How can it get better than that?  It can’t, I tell ya and hasn’t thus far.

So, the moral of this story: It’s not always bad. There are some good ones out there (until they turn bastardly of course ….ha ha – I just can’t help myself)

Until I date again!

One thought on “It’s Not Always Bad

Leave a Reply

