IMG_8407

I have dated a fair share of men as you know and talked to even more; and without fail – they all covet a woman with long hair. At least shoulder length hair. Why is that?

While I have been on dates with short hair; even started and sustained a long term relationship with very short hair – whenever I tell a guy that I am planning on chopping off my hair – the response is inevitably, “Why would you do that?” or “Noooooo don’t do it.”

This post is inspired by the fact that I chopped off my hair yesterday. No I am not looking for validation – just a curiosity about the obsession men have with long hair.

A short story:

When I was in college I had gorgeous hair – the kind of hair that would warrant a shampoo ad – alas it never happened. I was dating M (mentioned in a previous post) and I came back from the weekend after getting a trim. I had not more than an inch, maybe two trimmed off. M came to pick me up at the train station and when he saw me, he was strangely quiet. I had no clue why that was. Upon asking him several times, the answer I got was shocking.

“Why did you cut your hair?”

I did not CUT my hair – I got a trim for God’s sake.

Thank God I was young and spineless back then – else I would’ve chopped off my hair like I did yesterday – just to get a reaction 🙂

IMG_8405

Until I date again!

Leave a Reply

