It’s Not Always Doom and Gloom

IMG_3533

The last few posts have been mighty intense. While all the things I wrote about, happened; there have been many good things too.

Following is a sweet story that always brings a smile on my lips.

I was 19 years old, dating my ‘first love,’ – one of the lucky few towards whom I have no ill will even though we never ended up together.

Well, he was a very shy person. And believe it or not, I was quite shy then too. The most affection he would show in public was hold my hand or give me a quick kiss. We were madly in love and spent all our waking and sleeping hours together. As I mentioned in a previous post when I wrote about him ( https://datinginnewyorkblog.wordpress.com/2017/04/27/people-dated-before-the-invention-of-the-internet/) – we were that couple that were so cloyingly sweet and ‘perfect’ that they would irk my cynical self today.

Despite all the love and affection, we fought like any normal couple. Once we had a tiff over something that I can’t recall now, but I do remember what he did to make things right (a lost art).

After a couple of days of silent treatment from both sides, I was laying on my bed in my dorm – pining, I am sure.  A book open in front of me that wasn’t getting read. It was winter time and had been snowing for days. Staying in and fighting with my love didn’t help matters. All of a sudden I heard honking right outside my window. It was loud and pulled me out of my Bollywood heroine style moping. I sat up and the honking happened again. My roommate looked out of the window. She saw nothing as the cold had fogged our windows. This time the honking was more deliberate, clearly seeking someone’s attention it seemed.

My roommate opened the window climbing on my bed and screamed, “Geetika, look at this.”

“What? What’s happening? Who is it?” I said getting on my knees and peering over my roommate’s shoulders.

She broke free from my hands that were on her shoulders trying to look out. “Look who it is,” she spoke an inch away from my face.

“Who?” All I could see were headlights of a car and the annoying sound of a car horn.

She moved aside and almost pushed me out of the window.

“O my,” I said. It was M. He was standing under my window – full Romeo style and looking up at me. I couldn’t really see his face but could make out it was him and his car.

“What are you doing?” I yelled.

He didn’t say anything and I saw him lean inside the car. “She drives me crazy” by the Fine Young Cannibals began to play – full volume. https://youtu.be/0sw54Pdh_m8

Tell me that is not the cutest thing you ever saw? Well, it was the cutest thing I had ever experienced.

I threw my head back and started to laugh with pure joy.

“Go down idiot,” said my roommate.

“Yes yes,” I said trying to get off the bed without falling flat on my face. I was so excited. I was smiling like a fool trying to find my boots from under my bed.

“Tell him I’m coming,” I said looking for the other sock.

“Of course he knows you are coming.”

“She’s coming. Wait,” she screamed out the window.

I had my boots on and one sleeve of my jacket and I was flying down the stairs.

“Scarf,” yelled my roommate.

“I don’t think I’ll need it,” I said as I pulled open the front door. I ran to the car and there he was leaning on the car like the most handsome, sweetest man ever, the song still playing and coming to an end.

I flew into his arms and hugged him, nuzzled my nose into his now frozen neck.

“I’m sorry,” he told me in my ear.

“I’m sorry too,” I spoke into his lips as I kissed him.

“Look what I did for you,” he said pulling away from me and looking in my smiling eyes.

“What did you do?”

He took my hand and walked me around to the other side of the car. He pointed to a huge heart that he had made with the snow. He didn’t draw a heart, he made a heart.

O Lord.

Young love. I think a man today – a man my age would pull his back out attempting to make me a heart in the snow.

We stood there for a few moments, my head on his shoulder and his arms around me.

You know if this happened now, I would have my phone and you would see pictures of the heart 🙂

But that heart is etched in its full glory in my mind and makes me smile every time I think of that day.

He opened the car door and off we went into make up heaven. I was right – I didn’t need the scarf after all.

Until I date again!

Leave a Reply

